Sketch Background
Agency Header

2016 GSMS Student Roster

Students have been selected to attend the Governor's Schools for Mathematics and Science 2016 and their names as well as the counties they represent are included here.  Initially, more than 650 students began the application process. Some did not follow through, and others were eliminated at the local level.  A total of 156 students have been invited, including 96 current seventh graders and 60 current eighth graders. They were placed in specific sessions based upon their requests at the time of application.  If a county is not represented it is because no applications were submitted by that district. Every county is guaranteed that one student will be selected overall.  Others are added according to county population and quality of the applicants. 


The Governor's School for Math and Science 


Rising 8th Graders  

The following students who are currently in the seventh grade will attend Session I of the GSMS at WVU, July 3-12.


The following group of students has been invited to attend Session II of the GSMS at West Virginia University, July 14-23.

Braxton Wylie Skidmore
Cabell James Deal
Cabell Ian Hoopes
Cabell Natalie Sheils
Calhoun Bronson Bennett
Gilmer Shayla Bourn
Grant Rylee Adams
Greenbrier Justin McCullough
Hampshire  Laurel Keister
Hardy Nevin Good
Hardy Victoria  Humphries
Harrison Matthew Holbert
Jackson Matthew  Moore II
Jefferson Nash Pena
Kanawha Arianna Cannon
Kanawha Chase Compton
Kanawha Caitlyn Pace
Kanawha Lukas Summers
Marion Leah Shaw
Marshall Kealyn McCardle
Mercer Alexa Sayles
Mineral Emily Lark
Mineral Xander  Shoemake
Monongalia Elizabeth Warner
Monroe Peyton Whitt
Morgan  Phoebe Hogbin
Morgan  Jayden Rhodes
Nicholas Dylan White
Ohio Adeline Barbour
Ohio Fiona Hutchison
Pendleton  Ryan Mitchell
Pendleton Branson Nelson
Preston Isaiah  Anderson
Preston Aron Eddy
Putnam Andrew Linville
Raleigh Chase Bragg
Raleigh  Madison Sears
Ritchie Kaelyn McKenna
Roane Lakin Stricklen
Taylor Reagan Hulley
Tucker  Abbie Eakle
Wayne Emily Justice
Wetzel Rachel Bates
Wood Cecelia Fatta
Wyoming Connor Gibson



 GSMS at WV State University

Rising 9th Graders


Students who are currently in the eighth grade attend the session at West Virginia State University, July 11-24.

Barbour Maela Carr
Berkeley Calvin Dear
Berkeley Bridget Hall
Berkeley John Sloan
Berkeley Elijah Wegman
Boone Noah Jarrell
Brooke Sarah Moore
Cabell Khaled El-Shazly
Cabell Demetrios Svingos
Cabell Cassidy Woodrum
Calhoun Katelyn Curry
Fayette Amanda Flint
Fayette Marcayla King
Gilmer Kerry Watkins
Grant Isaac Armentrout
Greenbrier Peter Gonzalez-Garcia
Greenbrier Peyton Pack
Hardy Darrell  Good
Harrison Sophia McMillion
Harrison Carson Winkie
Jackson LeighAnn Wood
Jefferson Matthew Nace
Jefferson Catherine Vickers
Kanawha Abigail Bowe
Kanawha Walker Combs
Kanawha Kathan Devaraj
Kanawha Siamalan Krishnathas
Kanawha Audrey Stuart
Lincoln Joshua Adkins
Marion Sophia  Flower
Marion Conner Rush
Marshall Creed Kidney
Mercer Kaitlyn Bailey
Mineral Liza Litten
Mingo Shaylee Collins
Mingo Ashley Grimmett
Monongalia Sarah McChesney
Monongalia Asritha Sure
Monongalia Madison Wesolowsky
Monroe Abigail Fraley

Morgan Lydia Jenkinson

Nicholas William Radcliff
Ohio Benjamin Dilliplane
Ohio Arkady Seidewitz
Pendleton Braelyn Tharp
Pocahontas  Emmet  Doolittle
Preston Samantha Eddy
Putnam Brooklyn Milam
Putnam Hattie Sergent
Raleigh Shelby Meador
Randolph Liam Purkey
Roane Madeline May
Taylor Hannah Arnold

Tucker  Xzandra Ashby
Upshur Johnna Smith
Wayne Bethany Jarrell
Wayne Jocelyn Skeens
Wetzel Cole Henderson
Wetzel Zackary Slie
Wood Isaac Hardy
Wood Eleanor Mommessin


Sketch Background